About the Library

Be it inspirational, informational, educational or just plain enjoyable, you'll find everything you need to meet your needs at the Prospect Heights Public Library.

Mission Statement

Linking our community to the world of ideas.

Employment Opportunities @ the Library:

Youth Services Assistant, Youth Services Department Part time (25-28 hours a week)

The Prospect Heights Public Library is seeking an enthusiastic, customer focused individual familiar with children’s literature. Youth Services Assistants are responsible for a variety of tasks in the Youth Services Department, which serves children birth through eighth grades.

Duties: include assisting library users in the use of digital and print resources, planning and conducting programs both in and out of the library, assisting with collection development and promoting the library and library resources and services. Fluency in Spanish is a plus.

We are looking for part time help, with an average of 25-28 hours a week, which includes a Thursday evening, 2 Saturdays a month and participation in our Sunday rotation. The additional hours would be during the weekday.
Salary: $14.38 per hour, DOQ includes benefits.

Requirements: Experience with children is essential, BA, LTA, or equivalent child care experience. Fluency in Spanish and/or another language is a plus.
Click here for more details

To apply, email or fax resume to sueann@phpl.info
No phone calls please.

More about the Library...


Hours


Monday - Thursday 10 AM - 9 PM
Friday 10 AM - 6 PM
Saturday 10 AM - 5 PM
Sunday * 1 PM - 5 PM

* Open on Sundays during the school year only.

2017 Library Closings

  • Sunday, January 1
  • Monday, January 2
  • Sunday, April 16
  • Monday, May 29
  • Tuesday, July 4
  • Monday, September 4
  • Wednesday, November 22 (early closing at 3:00 pm)
  • Thursday, November 23
  • Sunday, December 24
  • Monday, December 25
  • Sunday, December 31
  • Monday, January 1, 2018